#masterclass

Our masterclasses are open to the public, and of course you are invited! 

Day tickets at the price of EUR 10,- (available from June 15th, 2022)


  • Peter Eötvös © Szilvia Csibi
JANUARY 22nd, 2023, KAMMEROPER

Open Masterclass #1


The Hungarian composer and conductor Peter Eötvös has made a name for himself in the international music and opera world at the latest with successful titles such as Three Sisters and The Golden Dragon (to be experienced in the Kammeroper ▶ The Golden Dragon). As the promotion of young talent is of great concern to him, he will work on his compositions with students of the Performance Practice in Contemporary Music (PPCM) course at the Kunstuniversität Graz. Join one of the leading contemporary composers of our time for a day as he talks about his work, musical language and sound design.

FEBRUARY 22nd - 24th, 2023 AND APRIL 19th - 22nd, 2023, KAMMEROPER

Open Masterclass #2


Aleksey Igudesman, virtuoso violinist, composer, conductor, actor and long-time member of the successful duo Igudesman & Joo, is taking a full risk in his Masterclass: in a very short time he will set up an opera evening together with students from a wide range of disciplines at the Musik und Kunst Privatuniversität der Stadt Wien. From 0 to opera - doomed to failure or a guarantee for success? Join us as we work together to create a very special and different opera evening - always with a certain twinkle in our eye, of course. The result can be experienced as part of the Late Night series (▶ From 0 to Opera). (▶ From 0 to opera).


  • Aleksey Igudesman © Julia Wesely
  • Stefan Herheim © Moritz Schell
MARCH 8th - 10th, 2023, KAMMEROPER

Open Masterclass #3


Stefan Herheim, internationally renowned opera director and from the season 22/23 also artistic director of the Theater an der Wien, enters the CAMPUS in person. Together with the vocal and musical theater directing program of the University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna, it is his personal concern to pass on his craft and to stimulate the imagination and understanding of the genre of musical theater by working on selected scenes of opera literature. In this way, get to know the work of the new directing artistic director up close!

#masterclass

Unsere Masterclasses sind öffentlich, und selbstverständlich sind Sie eingeladen! 

Tageskarten zum Preis von EUR 10,– (verfügbar ab 15. Juni 2022)


  • Peter Eötvös © Szilvia Csibi
22. JÄNNER 2023, KAMMEROPER 

Offene Masterclass #1 


Der ungarische Komponist und Dirigent Peter Eötvös hat sich spätestens mit Erfolgstiteln wie Drei Schwestern und Der goldene Drache (zu erleben in der Kammeroper ▶ Der goldene Drache) in der internationalen Musik- und Opernbranche einen Namen gemacht. Da ihm die Nachwuchsförderung ein großes Anliegen ist, wird er mit Studierenden des Studienganges Performance Practice in Contemporary Music (PPCM) der Kunstuniversität Graz an seinen Kompositionen arbeiten. Begleiten Sie einen Tag lang einen der führenden zeitgenössischen Komponisten unserer Zeit, wie er über sein Werk, seine Musiksprache und Tongestaltung spricht.

22. - 24. FEBRUAR 2023 UND 19. - 22. APRIL 2023, KAMMEROPER

Offene Masterclass #2


Aleksey Igudesman, virtuoser Geiger, Komponist, Dirigent, Schauspieler und langjähriges Mitglied des Erfolgsduos Igudesman & Joo, geht in seiner Masterclass auf volles Risiko: In kürzester Zeit wird er gemeinsam mit Studierenden verschiedenster Fachrichtungen der Musik und Kunst Privatuniversität der Stadt Wien einen Opernabend auf die Beine stellen. Von 0 bis Oper – zum Scheitern verurteilt oder ein Erfolgsgarant? Seien Sie dabei, wie in der gemeinsamen Arbeit ein ganz besonderer und andersartiger Opernabend entsteht – natürlich immer mit einem gewissen Augenzwinkern. Das Ergebnis wird im Rahmen der Reihe Late Night zu erleben sein (▶ Von 0 bis Oper).


  • Aleksey Igudesman © Julia Wesely
  • Stefan Herheim © Moritz Schell
08. - 10. MÄRZ 2023, KAMMEROPER

Offene Masterclass #3


Stefan Herheim, international renommierter Opernregisseur und ab der Spielzeit 22/23 auch Intendant des Theaters an der Wien, betritt höchstpersönlich den CAMPUS. Gemeinsam mit dem Studiengang Gesang und Musiktheaterregie der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst Wien ist es ihm ein persönliches Anliegen, sein Handwerk weiterzugeben und die Fantasie und das Verständnis für das Genre Musiktheater durch die Arbeit an ausgewählten Szenen der Opernliteratur anzuregen. Lernen Sie auf diese Weise die Arbeit des neuen regieführenden Intendanten hautnah kennen!